Growing Aspirations to reach Potential

Key Stage 3 and 4

As with primary education, parents and carers have a duty to support the education of the children in their care and should ensure 100% attendance. Every school has a designated teacher for CiC and this will be the person to liaise with.

Children attending secondary school will start in year 7 at the start of key stage 3.  They remain in key stage 3 in year 8 and 9 then move in to key stage 4 at the start of year 10.

The statutory secondary national curriculum  includes programmes of study and attainment targets for all subjects at key stages 3 and 4.

Tests and assessments

Key stage 3
There are no national tests and assessment in key stage 3. However, by the end of each summer term the school must write a report on every child’s progress which will be shared with parents and carers.

Key stage 4
During key stage 4 most pupils work towards national qualifications – usually GCSEs and/or English Baccalaureate (EBacc).

English Baccalaureate (EBacc)
In performance tables, the EBacc shows how many students got a GCSE grade C or above in English, Maths, two sciences, a language, and history or geography.

New GCSE Grades
From September 2017 all subjects will be graded 9 – 1.

Progress 8 and Attainment 8 – what is it?
Progress 8 is replacing the national expectation of pupils achieving 5 A* – C grades at GCSE.  It was introduced in England in September 2016.

Most students will be expected to take 8 qualifications and will have a Progress 8 score calculated depending on their attainment at KS2.

Cheshire West and Chester Virtual School Wyvern House, The Drumber, Winsford, CW7 1AU
Claire Bradley | Senior Business Support Officer 01244 976172